Maxxis or Dunlop?

Looking for new tires I have narrowed my selection to 2 tires based on what I am looking for and the type of riding.

First, for my 450 I have been running Dunlops for 2 years and they are great, I ride off road and im looking for a tire that lasts. what is a good Maxxis tire that can compare or beat the Dunlop?

Second, for my 150 it has the same tires that it had when we bought it, and they are balder than Lex Luthor... sorry my neard showed there for a bit :smirk:. Any way, offroad riding conditions, alternate terrain types, Maxxis or Dunlop?

Let me know what you think, thanks... :thumb:

Dirt only:
Maxxis Desert IT in the rear and the Dunlop Geo-max 71 in the front. Good combo, Maxxis up front are not that great.
Dual Sport:
Michelin AC-10 are a nice tire F/R. I am running a Dunlop Rally Raid 908 up front now (SUCKS) and a Pirelli Trials in the rear. OMG that is a great rear tire for our terrain in the desert.

SRAD97750

Staff member
I run dunlop K490 in the front. They have been discontinued. I have 3 in climate controlled storage. :smirk:
Maxxis SI in the rear.
Couldn't be happier with traction and longevity. Maxxis is easy on your wallet too.

Front:
MX-51 is a great tire for the desert. Has a great compound and you can really lean on it in the dez and it will not skate out from under you. If you really rely on your front tire in high speed conditions in the dez, you cannot go wrong with the 51. The 71 up front is a little too hard for my liking.

Pirelli Scorpion MX Hard 486 has been on the 450 now for awhile and I have been pretty impressed with it. Looks like it has some close knobs, but has not skated out from under me and the wear has been good. I will most likely replace it though with a 51 when it is time.

Rear: