Need help determining if my Stator is bad

Wont let me upload pictures,becuse photo is too large.Any one with knowledge ,of being able to examine one and know its bad please respond and I can email you pictures to check.Im not gettting a spark at all,but need to know for sure if its cdi box or stator,i dnt wanna guess.

I've never seen a Cdi go bad in my life.
I would disconnect the kill switch and try, also remove the ground bolts for the coil and clean blind that. Clean up the stator bolts too while you're at it. Then check for any bare wires that may be rubbing against the frame.

I disconnected kill switch,still no spark.Im new to riding and knowing of parts so will have to search for ground...would u happen to know where ground might be located?I have a 2008 yamaha yz450

SRAD97750

Staff member
Also,when took cover off 3 out of the 4 bolts had unscrewed from the stator
Well that is a terrible sign. Testing for continuity through the stator wires is where I start when testing a stator. Visual inspection will tell you very little about its actual electrical condition.
To be honest, the loose stator could've been why you had no spark. -BIG DAN:thumb:

I disconnected kill switch,still no spark.Im new to riding and knowing of parts so will have to search for ground...would u happen to know where ground might be located?I have a 2008 yamaha yz450

The bolts that run through the stator and coil are the grounds. You need to clean the contact points. Look for pinched and bare wires.