do I need to clean my engine?

I have a 95 KTM 300 exc. I'm just getting into riding and so I'm inexperienced. I'm hoping y'all could give me some input.

My bike started up and then died 50ft later.. I then got it started again and it did the same thing... I took it home and checked the air filter (first time checking it this summer, yes I know now how important it is..). I found that a mouse had eaten half the filter (I found seeds, foam peices and grass)... I've only ridden it a hand full of times (3-4 hrs total) and it was always on grass.

So my question is, what do I need to do to make sure my engine doesn't get toasted from this? I'm planning on cleaning the carb and replacing the air filter (with oil :).. Do I need to take apart my engine? Thanks

I have a 95 KTM 300 exc. I'm just getting into riding and so I'm inexperienced. I'm hoping y'all could give me some input.

My bike started up and then died 50ft later.. I then got it started again and it did the same thing... I took it home and checked the air filter (first time checking it this summer, yes I know now how important it is..). I found that a mouse had eaten half the filter (I found seeds, foam peices and grass)... I've only ridden it a hand full of times (3-4 hrs total) and it was always on grass.

So my question is, what do I need to do to make sure my engine doesn't get toasted from this? I'm planning on cleaning the carb and replacing the air filter (with oil :).. Do I need to take apart my engine? Thanks

Clean your carburetor throw a new filter in there and report back with a running report.

Clean your carburetor throw a new filter in there and report back with a running report.

Are you saying to start it up after I do this? My point was to not try to start it in case there was crud in the engine and it would damage it....

you msy need to clean out the reeds too in case a large chunk got hung up there. So, when you remove the carb look in there with a flashlite or remove the reed block too.