dirt bike wont start. please help me!

my sons 2005 KDX50 wont start. rebuild the carburetor, replaced the sparkplug, it sparks great, when i remove the spark plug its wet and smells of gas so gas is being sucked through the carb into the compression chamber. i pulled the piston cylinder apart to check if the piston rings were in place, and they where, it feels like its got compression when you kick the starter. it has auto oil injection so its straight gas in the gas tank. being that im a novice at this, and have no idea how to check and set the timing, im out of ideas. any help is greatly appreciated.

SRAD97750

Staff member
my sons 2005 KDX50 wont start. rebuild the carburetor, replaced the sparkplug, it sparks great, when i remove the spark plug its wet and smells of gas so gas is being sucked through the carb into the compression chamber. i pulled the piston cylinder apart to check if the piston rings were in place, and they where, it feels like its got compression when you kick the starter. it has auto oil injection so its straight gas in the gas tank. being that im a novice at this, and have no idea how to check and set the timing, im out of ideas. any help is greatly appreciated.
Define, "rebuild the carburetor," as far as what YOU have done.
Cleaning and rebuilding are two different things, and one is more in depth than the other.
-BIG DAN:thumb:

just as a refresher...you need fuel, air, compression and spark at the right time to make it run. Does it have reeds? Is the air filter clean? Try putting a few drops of fuel in the spark plug hole, quickly put plug in, hold it wide open and kick. If it starts then you know its fuel delivery as the problem/

just as a refresher...you need fuel, air, compression and spark at the right time to make it run. Does it have reeds? Is the air filter clean? Try putting a few drops of fuel in the spark plug hole, quickly put plug in, hold it wide open and kick. If it starts then you know its fuel delivery as the problem/