Other Crf70 hard to shift

Hey all...well I got the crf put back together and it runs fine but it is really hard to shift past 1st gear. It goes from neutral to first just fine and back but getting into 2nd and 3rd is really hard. I barely rode the bike before I took it apart to do maintenance (just bought it used) so I have no prior experience with it. Any ideas? The right side cover lined up and went back on ok (albeit a little tricky) so I don't think I crunched any clutch parts in the process.

It's my sons first outing tomorrow so I really want to take him for a couple hours. He probably won't get into 2nd or 3rd anyway. Is it going to hurt the bike to ride it this way? It seems fine once it's in gear...

shouldn't hurt it but it needs to come back apart. the shift drum or shift forks aren't lined up properly or something..... did you touch the gears at all?

shouldn't hurt it but it needs to come back apart. the shift drum or shift forks aren't lined up properly or something..... did you touch the gears at all?

No I didn't get that deep. All I did was change the oil, and I cleaned the clutch housing when I was in there. Once you take the crankcase cover off, your forced to deal with this ball bearing retainer deal with a spring on the outside of the clutch housing. I thought I got it all lined up when I put it back together (because if you're not lined up the crankcase won't fit back on) but maybe it's not perfect? I tried adjusting the clutch via the adjuster on the outside and that helped for one run through the gears and it might be slightly better now but still shifts rough past 1st.

Hard to tell if it's messed up or if my fatass shouldn't be riding it! I'm gonna break her down again and see if I can get at the problem after our ride...