TTR230 Dead Spot just off Idle

So Im not new to dirt bikes. But I am new to 4 Stroke bikes. A couple months back my girlfriend and I got in to some dirt bikes. Mine runs flawlessly thanks to the FI that Yamaha has gone with. My girls TTR runs great too, but..... it does have a dead spot just off idle. Makes no difference if the engine is cold or up to temp. If you try and smack the throttle open it will just die if you hold it open. So you really have to be gentle with the first 1/8 of a throttle. Im suspecting the the slow jet (pilot jet) is too rich maybe? Or maybe the clip on the jet needle needs to be adjusted? But before I go digging into it I want some informed opinions on what the possibilities could be. No I don't have a manual for it yet. Yes Im going to get one for it, and my bike. But $160 is kinda steep for the pair. And until some other problem rears its ugly head Im just gonna keep up on common sense maintenance.

Hers: Its a cute little bike and has lots of spunk and potential. I just want to make it better.
20160429_182735.jpg

Mine: Its a sexy beast and kinda scares me. But I know how to keep it in check.VZM.IMG_20160428_170823.jpg

From your description it seems like a lean bog to me, but I'm not there. Id adjust the mixture screw first to see if that makes a difference, if not, I'd definately go thru and clean that carb thoroughly and check float height, as far as an informed opinion I havnt worked on any of the ttr's but my first thought would be a malfunctioning accelerator pump, if that carb is equipted with one.