Seat Hopping

Is seat hopping a jump a hard thing to learn. I wanted to try this technique but i am afraid of standing up to late and being bucked over my bars:crash:. i need to learn it though for those hard to clear jumps.

James

Staff member
This is generally referred to as seat "bouncing" and yes it's considered to be more of an advance technique. The basics are to stand up just as you leave the lip, however it's not quite that simple. :lol:

Just go try it a few times and let us know what happened. :smirk:

really james? its one of the first things i was taught when i started riding track.

granted i got lucky and met a ex pro and she taught me a few of what i thought was the basics. I was trying a step up type jump and having problems. she said lets go try this one jump over and over. It was not a big jump but it was right out of a corner so it was hard for me to get speed to clear it. Apparently thats the best use of a seat bounce. when there is a jump real close to the berm. Took me a good hour or so to finally clear the jump using the technique but once it "clicked" that jump became easy.

here is a great how to
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l1c3ryEDTJA

James

Staff member
really james? its one of the first things i was taught when i started riding track.
:lol: Let me guess, you aren't the fastest in corners? :stirthepot: :smirk: The reason (IMO) seat bouncing is an advance technique, is because you shouldn't need it until you can absolutely rail a corner and not make the jump after it. Seat bouncing before you have you corners skills down is just putting a band-aid on it (again IMO).

I would never mention seat bouncing to somebody, until they have their corners and form down pat. Heck I wouldn't let the last guy I helped take any jumps for a couple days, we worked on corners and form non-stop. He dropped an insane amount of time off his lap times after that.