New Here

Hi all,

I'm new here. I've been reading the forums for a while but have finally decided to sign up.

I'm a relatively novice/intermediate rider running a '99 YZ250. I don't race, but love to run the tracks on the weekends (though still improving all that technique and what not). Being in the Midwest, I really only have about 6-7 good months to ride the thing (and due to work schedule, I tend to be a weekend warrior at best). But overall, turns out I really like fixing the thing up, so the off-time isn't horrible (even if undesirable). Hopefully I'll be posting around and learning some things.

-RageD

You might have the same bike as mine. Is yours the competition model?
Would like to know what altitude you're at and what your jets are?
Lots of smart and friendly peeps here.
Welcome.

Last edited:
Thanks for the warm welcome guys! I will definitely have to post some pics. It's certainly not the prettiest bike-- I bought this one from a guy about a year ago and it was pretty beat up. After replacing the forks, top-end rebuild, etc., and several bottles of shout later, the work is not done (the plastics still looking a bit tired :smirk:).

I mostly bought this one as a project; I wanted to learn to do my own repairs and not worry about wrecking an expensive bike. I used to ride when I was younger, but it was over 10 years probably since the last time I had ridden until I bought this one last year. As a result, if I had a yard sale I would have avoided falling to my knees in tears (instead, I would just cry standing up :pout:).