Bogging issue, should I change the gearing?

Got a 2001 YZ125, yesterday was my first time riding an MX bike (had a ttr230), the issue was that I found it incredibly hard to get moving from a standstill, if I stopped the bike at just a slight uphill it would just be impossible to get moving again because no matter what combination of clutch releasing / gas giving I tried, it would bog down and then stall, sometimes it would eventually pick up the RPMs after a couple of seconds while slowly moving and from then on work perfectly.

I weight 250lb and the gearing ration is 13/48, I'm not sure that's even the problem but 48 seems like it could be too low for my weight.

Anybody got any other ideas

Additional info: it happened from the moment I started riding until the end of the trip 3 hours later, hot or cold, didn't matter. oil/gas mixture ration 32:1

This leaves me with several questions....
When was the last time you cleaned your carb?
When was the last time the topend was rebuilt?
Does the powervalve operate properly and has it been cleaned lately?
How well is the bike jetted?

These could all lead to the low power you are feeling when taking off. Granted its a 125 and it begs to be revved to the moon, but in 1 st gear this thing should launch like a soviet missile.

here's a pic of the plug

s.png

At your weight I wonder why you would go from a 230 down to a 125? The suggestions above would be a good start but I would have gone to a larger engine if it were me. :prof: Is the engine in stock form or has someone ported it and done things to it. If that has been done then it can take some time until that little things comes on the pipe and until then it is gutless.

My buddys that run 125's in the woods run 12/51 gearing.. And sometimes 13/51

Like others have said clean and check Carb and air filter. And if you plan on keeping the bike or a 2stroke. I'd invest in a compression tester.