Why hello there, my name is Mike!

It was brought to my attention that I never posted a thread in the New Member section. So here it is.

I was actually going to just post those two sentences and leave it at that, but hey why not tell a bit about myself and my riding. I grew up in San Diego and was referred to this site by Travace. Travace and I know each other because we used to play a video game together called Tribes, and the main forum for that game was called Tribalwar.com. Keep in mind this game came out in 1998 or 99. Come to think of it I don't think I ever played with Trav, but we know each other from that forum because we're both bike fans and live in SD.

I started riding in 2003. I started out on road bikes with a YZF600r. I quickly learned that the road laws were too restrictive and moved on to trackdays. After a few I realized I couldn't afford to do as many as I wanted, but I had a few friends who worked at SoCalTrackDays and I convinced them to let me work there with them. The deal was I worked for half the day with a bunch of flags and a radio keeping people safe, and then I got to ride for the other half the day. After a few years of this I traded up my bike at the time a 2005 GSXR600 for an insurance check. (chucked it down the track at 95MPH and told them I hit a squirrel in the canyons hehe) So I took the money and bought a new track bike and a dirt bike which was a 2003 YZF450. I got the dirt bike because i was getting fast enough on the race track that the bike was beginning to bounce and move around under me and I wanted to get used to that by riding a dirt bike.