Tires

so I have a 2000 yz250 I'm in the presses of converting it to a woods bike, it's still got a 19 inch rear wheel. Planning on swapping it with an 18 eventually. It's about time to put new tires on. This is my first time buying tires of it. Basically I ride in packed dirt, mud, gravel, sharp rocks and some tree roots, and some pavement. I'd like to find a tire that grips well and will last. I know everyone has there opinion on who makes the best tire. Any experience you can share is greatly appreciated thanks

SRAD97750

Staff member
Maxxis is my go to offroad tire. You're going to get every recommendation under the sun in a thread like this.
I recommend finding front end grip and rear end lifespan. -BIG DAN:thumb:

so I have a 2000 yz250 I'm in the presses of converting it to a woods bike, it's still got a 19 inch rear wheel. Planning on swapping it with an 18 eventually. It's about time to put new tires on. This is my first time buying tires of it. Basically I ride in packed dirt, mud, gravel, sharp rocks and some tree roots, and some pavement. I'd like to find a tire that grips well and will last. I know everyone has there opinion on who makes the best tire. Any experience you can share is greatly appreciated thanks

I rode on a half worn out Shinko dual compound recently. Roots, rocks, hard pack, mud. I was set not to like it but I really did, and considering all the knobs were rounded and it probably had 40 hours on it according the guy guiding us "at least ten rides". rides are 4 hours, but it didn't seem like it.