Never been on a dirt bike

So I figured Id give you all a bit of insight on who I am. Ive been riding motorcycles for the past five years now. Went from a 250 to a 750 and Ive now owned and ride a 1300 for the past two years. Ive rode all over the US with countless miles and conditions under my belt. So riding in general is nothing new to me.
I was also raised riding quads. 4x4 and sport but mostly 4x4.
Anyways, recently Ive been riding my friends Yfz 450r. I fell in love with it right away but would love to get more into dirt bikes rather than quads.
Am I wrong to want that? At 28 years old is it too late to learn? I know riding dirt/mud is completely. Different than street.
Any advice would be greatly appreciated!! Happy riding to all!!!

So I figured Id give you all a bit of insight on who I am. Ive been riding motorcycles for the past five years now. Went from a 250 to a 750 and Ive now owned and ride a 1300 for the past two years. Ive rode all over the US with countless miles and conditions under my belt. So riding in general is nothing new to me.
I was also raised riding quads. 4x4 and sport but mostly 4x4.
Anyways, recently Ive been riding my friends Yfz 450r. I fell in love with it right away but would love to get more into dirt bikes rather than quads.
Am I wrong to want that? At 28 years old is it too late to learn? I know riding dirt/mud is completely. Different than street.
Any advice would be greatly appreciated!! Happy riding to all!!!
i had rode a dirtbike a few times before but i didnt get into this sport till i was 33 :thumb: DO IT you wont regret it.

besides you already got the ahrdest part of riding under your belt.... throttle control. that was the biggest problem for me when i started... getting all whisky throttle or staling. once you get the basics of dirt riding the rest will come fast.