My 99 YZ125 build thread

hey guys, my names devon and i have a 1999 yz125. ive been riding for about 3 years, and this is my first bike so heres a little history.

obviously you have to take what everyone says when theyre selling a bike with a grain of salt, but "supposedly" this bike was a practice bike for the kid i bought it from's uncle, who raced for yamaha and got the bike straight from the factory. the bike was ran from 99-02, then put away until 2011. once brought back out in 2011, it was run for a year, then had a top end rebuild in winter 2011-2012, and i bought it the end of summer 2012. i picked her up for $900, with a brand new rear tire that wasn't even installed, a brand new fender, hand grips, 2 bottles of 2 stroke oil and a bottle of gear oil. it had GP racing suspension tuned for track, bills pipe, pro circuit silencer, and Tag bars. plastics obviously have some stress marks, it was a 13 year old bike. usual wear and tear, but she started up easy and ran well, putted around the yard and brought her home.

since it was my first bike and i was basically learning on it, it took me a while to start actually being able to use the power, but after 2 and a half years, i can say i can rip her hard enough to have one hell of a time. the only issue this bike has ever given me was when the clutch basket blew apart in a sand pit and wouldnt shift past 2nd gear. i thought i blew the tranny, but upon disassembling the clutch i saw what really happened.

after a new hinson racing clutch basket, clutch plate and a new DP clutch kit, and 6 cans of brakleen, she shifted through every gear perfectly. and of course, as soon as i get alllllll that back together, i blow a wheel bearing! oh well..more maintenance.