Good bike for beginner?

I made another thread about deciding if I should get a bike or not. After all the helpful replies I think I most likely will, and now it's time to decide what is best. The one I was looking at was a TTR 250, but I called and they just sold it today. :(
Unfortunately I had spent all my time researching that bike, and I'm a complete noobie and all the different types are just overwhelming to me.
I have never even sat on a bike before, so I am the definition of a beginner. But I'm a fairly quick learner and have ridden quads a ton, so I am at least comfortable on rough trails. My questions to you all, is what types of bikes are good for a beginner, but still have some decent power so I'm not bored after 1 week of riding?
The ttr250 seems like it has about the right power for me, so what are some other equivalents to that? I don't want anything less powerful than that, but could probably do okay with something slightly more.

One thing I liked about the 250 was that based on everything I read, it seemed to have good suspension and a really comfy seat, which I'm all for especially being so new. If I can find one, I'll get that, but the bike selection around here is slim pickins, so any equivalent or similar type of bike would do, I just don't know what they are. xD
Oh one last thing. Is there any specific years I should stay away from? And how far back do you think is okay to go year wise? Personally I would like to stay in the 2000s, but 90s would be okay if those are still decent bikes.

Thanks in advance for any help you can provide!