General mechanic know how 101

I've been a member on DBA for a couple years now, and this is the first forum I think I've ever really been a regular part of, in this time I've tried to help along many new members with quite novice type questions in regards to basic mechanic skills, basic diagnosis of problems whether electrical,mechanicle, run ability or whatever. Many have helped themselves along and I'm more than happy to pass along knowledge that I have aquired during my life as a mechanic. I do not claim to be mr. Know it all, but I can usually fix anything in front of me using my method of finding and fixing problems, whether automotive, motorcycle or anything somewhat related......so this thread is not only for me to pass along some of my methods for trouble shooting/repairing but for others to also post up some of the things they have learned along the way. The hope is knowledge can be shared between members and also when newbies show up we can refer them to this thread, let them possibly find the answer themselves thru other people's experience without constantly repeating the same thing thread after thread sometimes with the same members.

first and foremost GET A REPAIR MANUAL for the year make and model of your bike, so much time and effort can be saved by having one to refer to during any service,maintenance or repair.

Here are a few steps before you ever pick up a wench that you should verify before beginning.

1.When did the problem start? Has it done it before?
2. When does the problem occur? Cold, hot, anytime,only on the pipe, or at idle etc....
3. Have you tried to anything to fix this? Has there been a change, if so what?