Bike for a woman?

Hey guys, new member here and looking for some advice. My wife wants a dirt bike for trail riding and gravel road cruising mostly, but if it’s street legal then that might be a bonus. I’ve been an ATV rider my whole life so I’m not up on dirt bikes. We have both owned Harley cruisers so we’re not total beginners. My wife had a Harley 883 Custom but it was borderline too big for her. She’s only 5’3” but she is strong. She needs something she can sit on and still touch in order to feel comfortable and something that the bars won’t feel so far away like her Harley did.

This is gonna have to be a used bike and I’m not even sure what to budget for a bike that might fit the bill for her. I was hoping to stay under $1500, but I may be way out of the ballpark. Again, I’m not up on dirt bike values or trends. So really, I’m open to suggestions for make, models, and what I could reasonably expect to pay for something. We’re not serious riders, but my son is getting really good on his 50cc ATV and I have a 500 ATV, so the wife wants to tag along for trail rides and she definitely wants a bike and not an ATV.

Hey guys, new member here and looking for some advice. My wife wants a dirt bike for trail riding and gravel road cruising mostly, but if it’s street legal then that might be a bonus. I’ve been an ATV rider my whole life so I’m not up on dirt bikes. We have both owned Harley cruisers so we’re not total beginners. My wife had a Harley 883 Custom but it was borderline too big for her. She’s only 5’3” but she is strong. She needs something she can sit on and still touch in order to feel comfortable and something that the bars won’t feel so far away like her Harley did.