2 Stroke 1989 CR250R Cosmetics

Hey guys, I figured I'd move this question here rather than being in my new member thread.

I just picked up this 1989 CR250R on a trade and I'll be cleaning it up and restoring it somewhat over the winter.

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1444660566.722572.jpg
(Don't worry, she's on a stand now, this was right after unloading it off the truck lol.)

So anyways, I was wondering about possibly updating the plastics/seat, wondering if this may be an option. Does anyone know if the seat and plastics from a 91-92 would bolt on this? I'm kind of leaning towards probably not after looking at the gas tank design, but I figured I'd ask the experts since I am new to dirt bikes. Any help appreciated, thanks!!

Nice bike! From personal experience older bikes are difficult to get good parts for. You can make your own seat cover. Most likely the parts will not fit, but you can look around for different colored plastics.

Thanks man! I ended up ordering a graphics kit for a CR500, after looking and comparing for a while, the plastics look about 90% the same, so since swapping plastic wasn't really much of an option, I just pulled it all apart today and cleaned it all up real good, repainted the worn number plates a fresh white, and graphics will be here Friday. I think the graphics, along with new grips and handlebar pad in red/black/white with some numbers on there will spruce it up enough for me...for now!

Have you tried to remove the tank shrouds from your tank yet for any reason? If you have already, how were the bolts coming out?
If you haven't yet then if they're in good shape then leave them alone as the brass insert captive nuts in the tank often spin when you try to remove them causing severe headaches!
You been warned! ;-)
On a side note I went to see a buddy at his shop and look what was lying around outside!:ride::ride::thumb::thumb::thumb:
IMG_20151020_160656.jpg
IMG_20151020_160507.jpg