250 Yz250 won't start

Hey guys, I'm new to dirt bikes, I've only had my bike a week, and now for some reason it won't start. Two days ago I rode for an hour with a brand new spark plug (started first kick cold) and today I go to ride and the bike won't start, I put another brand new plug in it and it didn't make a difference. (I tried using starting fluid and it didn't pop, but it's kind of hard to do it by myself) any ideas?

SRAD97750

Staff member
Remember you want to get riding again F.A.S.T.!!!!

Fuel - Do you have clean fuel getting into the carburetor? Is the carburetor clean? Clean it anyway...
Air - Is your intake boots and air filter in proper working order?
Spark - Is the killswitch stuck? Do you have spark with the plug laid against the cylinder head while you kick?
Try again once you have verified all these things. One of them is most likely the cause.

-BIG DAN :thumb:

The fuel is fine, the last time I rode, I ran it out of gas. And the gas I put in was new.
The filter is filthy, I tried to buy a UNI to replace it but got ripped off on eBay. But this shouldn't be the problem since I had the filter off?

The plug is new, but I didn't check to see if it was sparking. I will check the kill switch tomorrow too.

The fuel is fine, the last time I rode, I ran it out of gas. And the gas I put in was new.
The filter is filthy, I tried to buy a UNI to replace it but got ripped off on eBay. But this shouldn't be the problem since I had the filter off?

The plug is new, but I didn't check to see if it was sparking. I will check the kill switch tomorrow too.

Key phrase.

Make sure gas is getting to the carburetor. Have you cleaned the carburetor before? You can clean air filters, dish soap and water will suffice but make sure you re-oil it after it drys off.